A year in review – 2023

A year in review – 2023


2023 has been a remarkable year for LightSpeed UK, marked by relentless client work, WordCamp EU attendance, and significant internal growth. As the year draws to a close, we reflect on our journey filled with innovation, challenges, and triumphs.

More than a year of growth and achievement

The year began with a flurry of client projects and preparations for WordCamp EU in Athens. Our team’s dedication to embracing change and innovation laid the foundation for a year of significant accomplishments.

WordCamp Europe Conference, June 2022

Ash Shaw’s experience at WordCamp EU in Porto was a pivotal moment, sparking our interest in WordPress block theme technologies. This led to the immediate adoption of block themes, initiating a steep learning curve for our team.

lsdev.biz Redesign Project – Nov 2022 to Feb 2023

We undertook the significant task of revamping lsdev.biz, adopting a block theme approach that streamlined our design process. This project honed our expertise in the WordPress Full Site Editor, equipping us with vital skills for efficient and innovative web design.

Block Theme Development Upskilling – Nov 2022 to Apr 2023

To advance our technical skills, we collaborated with a leading WordPress consultant, Frank Klein. This partnership significantly expanded our knowledge base, aligning our development practices with those of top-tier agencies globally.

Nov 2022 till present – Embracing Figma

The transition to Figma revolutionised our design workflow, enabling real-time collaboration and speeding up our design processes. This tool has become integral to our operation, mirroring the practices of major tech companies.

June 2023 – WordCamp EU in Athens

This event was another milestone, where we showcased our new PDF & Printed Brochures, highlighting our company profile and the LSX Design system.

July 2023 – Launch LSX Design

Our LSX Design theme was approved in early July, after being reviewed by the WordPress.org theme review team. Once the theme was approved, site owners could install the theme for free via the backend of WordPress. We also published our LSX Design System to Figma for the community for free download.

Notable Achievements in 2023

Our proudest moment was receiving the African Excellence Award for the most innovative WordPress web agency in August 2023, a recognition of our innovative efforts and expertise.

Team Triumphs

2023 saw our team expand with new talent Zared, and celebrated milestones for several team members, including Lourens, Adam, Justin, Chris, and Warwick. Their collective experience and dedication have been vital to our success.

LSX Design: Evolving WordPress Themes

Our LSX Design theme underwent significant development, with versions 1.1 & 1.2 released, each adding new functionalities and enhancing user experience. The introduction of LSX Block Extensions like LSX Sharing and LSX Mega Menus marked another leap in WordPress functionality.

Portfolio Highlights

Our diverse client work, including projects for Platandia and Wanderlust Woo, and ongoing collaborations with retainer clients like Xneelo, underscores our adaptability and commitment to excellence.

Milestones and Innovations

Our journey of learning and development was marked by key events and projects. The redesign of lsdev.biz and the upskilling of our team in block theme development and Figma were crucial to our growth. The development of the LSX Block Theme and Design System streamlined our processes, making our workflow more efficient and productive.

Recognitions and Achievements

Winning the African Excellence Award and participating in events like the DoTheWoo Agency Podcast and applying for the Xero Business Fund were highlights of the year. These achievements helped refine our business strategy and software roadmap.

LightSpeed UK Website Relaunch

In December 2023, we proudly relaunched the LightSpeed UK website using the LSX Design theme, showcasing our commitment to innovation and excellence in web development.

A Look to the Future

Entering 2024, we are filled with confidence and excitement, ready to continue our journey of innovation in the WordPress and WooCommerce development sphere.

In Conclusion

2023 was a year where LightSpeed UK not only adapted to changes but actively drove innovation in our field. As we look forward to 2024, we are excited to continue this journey, pushing the boundaries and exploring new possibilities.

We extend our heartfelt thanks to our incredible team, clients, and community for being an integral part of this journey. Here’s to another year of success and innovation at LightSpeed UK!

Book a 20 – 30 minute consultation with us now and let us help you achieve your dream website.



Recent Posts